Saskatchewan's Built Heritage

Historic Places Saskatchewan

You may not know that over 800 historic properties and sites have been designated for protection in Saskatchewan since the province's Heritage Properties Act was passed in 1980. This legislation also makes it possible for municipal government to provide grants, loans, tax relief, and other forms of financial assistance to protect or promote historic places.

Our built heritage includes schools, places of worship, monuments, warehouses, office buildings, banks, court houses, train stations, shops, apartment blocks, houses, barns, grain elevators, bridges, forts, trading posts, grain elevators, character main streets, and protected landscapes across our province.

Proceed to our growing collection of images and stories